Mar 05, 2024  
Undergraduate Catalog 2020-2022 
Undergraduate Catalog 2020-2022 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Agriculture

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: School of Agriculture, Fisheries and Human Sciences

Dr. Tracy Dunbar, Chair


Obadiah Njue
David Fernandez
Leslie J. Glover
Shahidul Islam
Shadrach Okiror
Tracy Dunbar
Sixte Ntamatungiro
Bihu Huang

Associate Professors

Yong Park
Jayant Lohakare

Assistant Professors

Robert A. Fitz
Pamela Moore
Ranjitsinh Mane
Yasser Sanad


Alicia Farmer
Julius Handcock
Kacy Wright

Extension Assistant Specialist

Margaret L. Taylor

The Department of Agriculture provides students with a quality education through teaching, research, scientific experiences and technical orientation in the agricultural disciplines.


To prepare students for -

  1. The job market in their area of specialization;
  2. Graduate and professional school;
  3. Entrepreneurship by providing knowledge of technical agriculture, agribusiness, and agricultural policies;
  4. Productive and well-educated citizenship; and
  5. Participation in domestic as well as international agricultural production systems.

General Departmental Requirements

Students must complete a minimum of 120 semester hours, or as specified by the curriculum in their field, to earn the Bachelor of Science degree in Agricultural Sciences or in Regulatory Science. The agricultural sciences degree program has options in Animal Science, Poultry Science, Plant and Soil Science, Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Business, and Agricultural Education. The Regulatory Sciences degree program has options in Agriculture, Environmental Biology and Industrial Health and Safety. All students take the same core courses during the first two years. Students may take Cooperative Education which adds an additional 6 hours to the curriculum.

Although students may choose the degree and area of specialization which best satisfies their interests and goals for educational achievement, certain standards must be met: see University requirements.


  1. Students take electives with advisors’ consent.
  2. Students must exit University College.
  3. Students must take a comprehensive examination in their major program area.

Departmental Resources

Most classroom activities are carried out in Woodard and Holiday Halls. These buildings are located on the main campus and house the academic programs. UAPB has three research and demonstration farm sites. The University Farm which consists of 213 acres is located on the north side of campus. The facilities include: The S. J. Parker Research Center and other research structures, the S. J. Parker Cooperative Extension Complex, Agricultural Technology Center, Vegetable Shed/Food Processing Laboratory and the Farm Managers House with associated equipment, animals and animal structures. An 871 acre research and demonstration farm is located near the town of Lonoke, Arkansas. The Lonoke farm has cropland, fish ponds, constructed wetlands, native grasses, trees and other conservation related resources. It is also the future home of the National Water Management Center of the Natural Resources and Conservation Service. A third research and demonstration farm is located near Marianna, Arkansas.



    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: School of Agriculture, Fisheries and Human Sciences